Search results for 'Jane Austen'

Jane Austen

5 Item(s)

  • Sense and Sensibility (Penguin Clothbound Classics)

    Part of Penguin's beautiful hardback Clothbound Classics series, designed by the award-winning Coralie Bickford-Smith, these delectable and collectible editions are bound in high-quality colourful, tactile cloth with foil stamped into the design.


    Marianne Dashwood wears her heart on her sleeve, and when she falls in love with the dashing but unsuitable John Willoughby she ignores her sister Elinor's warning that her impulsive behaviour leaves her open to gossip and innuendo. Meanwhile Elinor, always sensitive to social convention, is struggling to conceal her own romantic disappointment, even from those closest to her. Through their parallel experience of love - and its threatened loss - the sisters learn that sense must mix with sensibility if they are to find personal happiness in a society where status and money govern the rules of love.

    EGP375.00
    Quick View
    EGP375.00
    Quick View
  • Persuasion (Penguin Clothbound Classics)

    Part of Penguin's beautiful hardback Clothbound Classics series, designed by the award-winning Coralie Bickford-Smith, these delectable and collectible editions are bound in high-quality colourful, tactile cloth with foil stamped into the design.


    At twenty-seven, Anne Elliot is no longer young and has few romantic prospects. Eight years earlier, she had been persuaded by her friend Lady Russell to break off her engagement to Frederick Wentworth, a handsome naval captain with neither fortunenor rank. What happens when they encounter each other again is movingly told in Jane Austen's last completed novel. Set in the fashionable societies of Lyme Regis and Bath, Persuasion is a brilliant satire of vanity and pretension, but, above all,it is a love story tinged with the heartache of missed opportunities.

    EGP360.00
    Quick View
    EGP360.00
    Quick View
  • Persuasion (Seasons Edition -- Summer)

    A fine exclusive edition of one of literature’s most beloved stories. Featuring a laser-cut jacket on a textured book with foil stamping, all titles in this series will be first editions. No more than 10,000 copies will be printed, and each will be individually numbered from 1 to 10,000. * Now with a bonus bookmark!


    “He had seen you indeed, before he came to Bath, and admired you, but without knowing it was you. So says my historian, at least. Is this true? Did he see you last summer or autumn, ‘somewhere down in the west,’ to use her own words, without knowing it to be you?”


    At twenty-seven, Anne Elliot is no longer considered young enough for worthy romantic prospects. Eight years earlier, she had been persuaded by her friend Lady Russell to break off her engagement to Frederick Wentworth, a handsome naval captain with neither fortune nor rank. What transpires when they encounter each other again is movingly told in Jane Austen's last completed novel. A brilliant satire of vanity and pretension, Persuasion is, above all, a love story tinged with the heartache of missed opportunities.


    Persuasion (Seasons Edition--Summer) is one of four titles available in June 2020. The summer season will include Jane Eyre, the Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and The Wonderland Collection.

    EGP524.00
    Quick View
    EGP524.00
    Quick View
  • The City in the Middle of the Night

    *The Verge's Science Fiction and Fantasy Book We're Looking Forward to in 2019
    *AV Club's 15 Most Anticipated Books of 2019
    *Book Riot's Most Anticipated Books of 2019
    *Kirkus' 30 Speculative Fiction Books You Should Read in February 2019
    *Bookish's Winter's Must-Read Sci-fi & Fantasy
    *Bookbub's Best Science Fiction Books Coming Out in 2019
    *YA Books Central's Buzzworty Books of 2019

    “This generation’s Le Guin.” —Andrew Sean Greer, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Less


    Charlie Jane Anders, the nationally bestselling author of All the Birds in the Sky delivers a brilliant new novel set in a hauntingly strange future with #10 LA Times bestseller The City in the Middle of the Night.


    "If you control our sleep, then you can own our dreams... And from there, it's easy to control our entire lives."


    January is a dying planet--divided between a permanently frozen darkness on one side, and blazing endless sunshine on the other. Humanity clings to life, spread across two archaic cities built in the sliver of habitable dusk.


    But life inside the cities is just as dangerous as the uninhabitable wastelands outside.


    Sophie, a student and reluctant revolutionary, is supposed to be dead, after being exiled into the night. Saved only by forming an unusual bond with the enigmatic beasts who roam the ice, Sophie vows to stay hidden from the world, hoping she can heal.


    But fate has other plans--and Sophie's ensuing odyssey and the ragtag family she finds will change the entire world.

    EGP404.00
    Quick View
    EGP404.00
    Quick View
  • My Plain Jane (The Lady Janies #2)

    Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of the New York Times bestselling My Lady Jane are back with an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre—a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.


    You may think you know the story. Penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall, where she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester—and, Reader, she marries him. Or does she?


    Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions, in which all is not as it seems, a certain gentleman is hiding more than skeletons in his closets, and one orphan Jane Eyre, aspiring author Charlotte Bronte, and supernatural investigator Alexander Blackwood are about to be drawn together on the most epic ghost hunt this side of Wuthering Heights.

    EGP251.00
    Quick View
    EGP251.00
    Quick View